The Tao of Pooh [A Review]

The Tao of Pooh, by Benjamin Hoff

119790

   [Image courtesy of Goodreads]

In case you’re wondering, yup, I’m on a reading binge this holiday season.

I discovered this old book in a local bookstore better known for its range of stationery and assessment books. I’m glad I picked it up, because it’s a really fun and enlightening read.

I’m not sure if the explanations on Taoism in the book are accurate, because I’m not exactly familiar with the original teachings, but the writer did give me a different perspective of Pooh’s sometimes silly but lovable actions. And yes, a fair bit of the book gave me the “hmmm…” moment.

My favorite “enlightenment” happens to be about time, and here’s what that particular paragraph said:

“The main problem with this great obsession for Saving Time is very simple: you can’t save time. You can only spend it. But you can spend it wisely or foolishly. The Bisy Backson has practically no time at all, because he’s too busy wasting it by trying to save it. And by trying to save every bit of it, he ends up wasting the whole thing.”

[If you’re a fan of the Pooh stories, you’ll probably know what’s a “Bisy Backson”.]

The book is easy to read, but the philosophy explained in the chapters will likely take one some time to digest (and put into practice).

I’m now tempted to get my hands on the original Pooh stories.

VERDICT: This is a perfect read for the stressed busy bees amongst us, especially if you think it’s time to slow down, smell the flowers and better experience life.

Leave a Reply

