An Alternative Superhero Series [A Review]

The Reckoners Series, by Brandon Sanderson

Steelheart, Firefight, Calamity

brandon sanderson - reckoners steelheart brandon sanderson - reckoners firefight brandon sanderson - reckoners calamity

   [Image courtesy of bookdepository.com]

 

Oh Calamity! I’ve finally emerged from a fantasy world of superpowers and yet I don’t feel entirely good.

Yes, it’s been a while since my last post, and it’s primarily because I was trying to finish another Sanderson series before doing a review for the entire series. 

As some of you might know, I became a Brandon Sanderson fan only recently, and so I was really excited when I got my hands on The Reckoners series, considering that the last book was just published earlier this year. Despite the fact that this series had been tagged as young adult fiction, I had high expectations of a Sanderson creation, and was certain I would find it entertaining and refreshing.

Well, I must say it was a fairly entertaining read, and much of the narration was generously sprinkled with humour. I felt like I was reading a superhero series (think The Avengers and X-men), and with all that action, I just kept turning the pages.

But I was disappointed with how the story concluded, especially the part where Sanderson tried to explain where the powers of the Epics came from. I thought it was weak and woolly, and the message about how humans are innately good just wasn’t handled well enough. 

VERDICT: Do not expect something as good as the Mistborn series, plus this is more science fiction than traditional fantasy. But if you’re just looking for good entertainment or fast-paced action that’s not on a screen, this might be for you.

 

[I’ve not included the synopsis in this post because I’ve not been able to find one short enough to cover the entire series, but if you need one, Google always helps. 🙂 ]

Leave a Reply

