This Is More Than A Love Story [A Review]

Me Before You, by Jojo Moyes

jojo moyes - me before you

   [Image courtesy of bookdepository.com]

 

It took me a while to pick up this book, because I’ve never been a fan of romance novels, and all the synopses and reviews told me this WAS a romance novel. I finally decided to give it a read because of the hype it has received so far, and the fact that it made it to the big screen must mean something. Right?

I took two days to finish the book. Mind you, this is breakneck speed for me these days, what with work, kid and house chores. And I found myself having to tear myself away from the book in between so I could settle my real life first before returning to it. 

Yes, this is a love story, but I think it’s also more than a story about two people falling in love. It’s also about a parent’s love for his/her child, about a person’s right to make his/her own choices, and about the moral arguments for euthanasia. 

I’m not sure if I will read the sequel (yup, there’s already one – After You) because sequels tend to spoil the original story for me, but I may just watch the movie.

VERDICT: Don’t read this in public, especially the ending, because you won’t be able to hold back the emotions this book is likely to evoke.

For those who want to know a little about the story line, here’s an overview from bookdepository.com:

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane. Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that. What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

One thought on “This Is More Than A Love Story [A Review]

Leave a Reply

