Boy, I’m So Glad I’m Human [A Review]

Inheritance, Inheritance Cycle Book 4 by Christopher Paolini

christopher paolini - inheritance

   [Image courtesy of bookdepository.com]

 

It’s over at last, after almost two months and four books. Yet, I still can’t decide whether I like the story.

This last installment is by far the most action-packed, fast-paced and entertaining in the series. And I like the fact that Paolini decided to give the dragons and Riders some future at the end.

The conclusion was a tad too long-winded though. Well, I know Eragon had a few things to settle and wrap up, but after all the excitement from the preceding events and the great battle, the last couple of chapters were like a boring anti-climax. Plus, I sort of regretted that the ending was a sad one, albeit a necessary and believable one.

I’m actually glad that my prediction about Roran becoming a Rider was wrong, because he had a happy ending, unlike his poor cousin Eragon, who had to eventually leave his loved ones for the good of everyone. (I hope I’m not giving away too much here.) Roran is officially my favourite character in the story, and I’m so glad Paolini created such a powerful human character.

Finally, I’m having mixed feelings about how Eragon won the battle with Galbatorix, because it can feel corny to some, and yet clever to others. I think I’m stuck somewhere in between.

VERDICT: This is not the best I’ve read in my limited exposure to fantasy series, but if you’re looking for entertainment in the tradition of epic fantasies complete with elves, dwarves, trolls and dragons, it is quite a good read. Just don’t over-analyze the characters and the plausibility of their decisions and actions.

For those who want to know a little about the story line, here’s an overview from bookdepository.com:

Not so very long ago, Eragon Shadeslayer, Dragon Rider was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now the fate of an entire civilization rests on their shoulders. Long months of training and battle have brought victories and hope, but they have also brought heartbreaking loss. And still, the real battle lies ahead: they must confront Galbatorix. When they do, they will have to be strong enough to defeat him. And if they cannot, no one can. There will be no second chances. The Rider and his dragon have come further than anyone dared to hope. But can they topple the evil king and restore justice to Alagaësia? And if so, at what cost? This is the much-anticipated, astonishing conclusion to the worldwide bestselling Inheritance cycle.

Leave a Reply

