Heroes Do Not Always Have To Be Perfect [A Review]

Brisingr, Inheritance Cycle Book 3 by Christopher Paolini

christopher paolini - brisingr

   [Image courtesy of bookdepository.com]

 

Nope, I didn’t get my answer about the third egg in this third installment. In fact, the egg wasn’t even mentioned at all, because everybody was busy fighting.

And again, I enjoyed the Roran parts more. I think it has to do with the fact that Roran was human. Without any magical skills to help him, he had to use his wit, heart and brawn to fight for his life, and this is something that most of us common earthlings can relate to.

I like the part about how Eragon dealt with Sloan though, because it reminded me of Peter Parker in Spiderman and the famous line from his Uncle Ben – with great power, comes great responsibility. Eragon had the power to decide Sloan’s fate, but he did not abuse it. Maybe it sounds corny to some, but to me, it’s pretty cool.

I must say that the amount of travelling Eragon had to do to get things done kind of frustrated me, especially the part where he had to go back to Ellesmera to “finish” his training and find out how he could kill Galbatorix. I mean, he could have gotten all his training in Book 2 right? But no, he couldn’t, because he wasn’t “ready”. Anyway, I’m just glad that his second training trip to Ellesmera revealed everything else that he needed to know (I hope), and I’m looking forward to the final installment of the story.

Oh, by the way, I would have preferred that Paolini had kept the parentage of Eragon as it was in Book 2, because life is never so perfect in real life. For all you know, that might have added some nice twist to Eragon’s character development. But no, Paolini decided he had to have a cleaner inheritance, perhaps to satisfy readers who like their heroes to be perfect. I won’t reveal more about what I mean, in case some of you have not read the series, except that I think it would have been better to leave that chip in the shoulder where it was.

VERDICT: There are more fighting scenes in this book, and folks who like more excitement might like this installment better than the second one. I shall hold my verdict of the series till after I’m done with the fourth and last book.

For those who want to know a little about the story line, here’s an overview from bookdepository.com:

Oaths sworn …Loyalties tested …Forces collide. Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have narrowly escaped with their lives after the colossal battle against the Empire’s warriors on the Burning Plains. Now Eragon finds himself bound by promises he may not be able to keep. He must help rescue his cousin Roran’s beloved from King Galbatorix’s clutches. But he also owes his loyalty to the Varden, the elves and the dwarves, who are in desperate need of his talents and strength. Eragon in the greatest hope to rid the land of tyranny. Can this once simple farm boy unite the rebel forces and defeat the king?

Leave a Reply

