Goodbye, Richard Rahl and Kahlan Amnell (A Review)

The Sword of Truth: Richard and Kahlan series (4 books) by Terry Goodkind

The Omen Machine, The Third Kingdom, Severed Souls, Warheart

terry goodkind - omen machine terry goodkind - third kingdom terry goodkind - severed souls terry goodkind - warheart

[Images courtesy of and]

This is funny. I’m actually starting a reading blog with a farewell to two of my favourite book characters – at least for now. 

With the publication of the final book in the Sword of Truth: Richard and Kahlan series in November last year, I had wanted to get my hands on all the four books and read them at one go. But I didn’t get round to it till recently. I had read The Omen Machine when it came out a few years back, and because I thought that book ended quite abruptly, I stopped following the series because I didn’t want to go through the long wait for the remaining books wondering what’s next and how many more books there would be. As it turned out, Terry Goodkind took four years to complete this series, and it felt so much better being able to read all four books in immediate succession. And yes, I had to re-read The Omen Machine.

Goodkind’s simple prose and tight pace made this an easy read and a page-turner, although he took a while to explain Richard’s mission in The Third Kingdom. I have to admit I managed to get the idea even though I only skimmed through those parts very quickly – yes, that was how much dialogue and description he used to explain. Most of the action was in Severed Souls and Warheart naturally, and I enjoyed those, but there were too many deaths in there, including the sudden demise of one of my favourite characters! *sob* 

VERDICT: Read this if you’re looking for entertainment over a lazy weekend, and only if you have all four books with you, because (1) you don’t want to be left hanging over an abrupt ending from one of the first three books, and (2) the books are such an easy read that anything fewer than the four books will not last you the whole weekend if you read your fiction as fast as I do. Oh, and if you’ve been a fan of the Sword of Truth series, don’t expect these four books to be as good as Goodkind’s first few books in terms of characterization and suspense.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s